Professionally SpeakingUpfrontDepartmentsFeaturesResourcesGoverning Ourselves

Governing Ourselves


Education Minister advocates stronger communications role for College | Council meeting | Council members appointed | Council vacancy | Qualifications Review | Please Comment/Volunteer | New Manager Accreditation | Investigations | Dispute Resolution | Hearings

council Meeting

Summary - June 2005

At its June 3rd meeting, College Council:

  • approved the appointment of second runner-up Howard Ramcharan to assume the elected principal/vice-principal position vacated by Brian Rivait
  • recommended to the Minister of Education that the legislation governing the Ontario College of Teachers be amended to enable Council to pass bylaws to permit the Council chair and vice-chair to be granted leaves of absence by their employer up to full-time as required by Council for the full term
  • established a subcommittee of Council to investigate the issues attached to the full-time or part-time release of the chair and/or vice-chair, including but not limited to job descriptions, rationale and financial considerations
  • approved the extension of the interim appointments of Patrick Slack (appointed) and Gail Lilley (appointed) to the Executive Committee to September 30, 2005
  • confirmed the appointments of Iain Munro as chair of the Accreditation Committee and Don Cattani as chair of the Fitness to Practise Committee
  • amended College bylaws to establish new guidelines for the use of the College's visual identity, including the College's icon and wordmark
  • directed staff to prepare a report for Council's September meeting on strategies to encourage members to register in the Members' Area of the College web site.

Council members also put forward motions to:

  • have the Registrar present policies, plans and measurable outcomes at the December Council meeting to actively promote the teaching profession to increase public respect for teachers
  • compensate roster members, members-at-large and institutional appointees who were involved in accreditation panels between January 1 and March 31, 2005.