May 1997



Back to the
Front Page ...

Professionally Speaking is published quarterly by the Ontario College of Teachers to inform its 165,000 members about the activities and decisions of the College. The magazine provides a forum for discussion of issues relevant to the future of teaching and learning, teachers’ professional learning and standards of practice. The views expressed in articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official position of the College. Letters to the editor and submissions on topics of interest to the profession are welcome. Unsolicited manuscripts can not be returned unless they are accompanied by a self-addressed stamped envelope. Professionally Speaking reserves the right to edit letters for length. To be considered for publication, all letters must be signed and provide the writer’s daytime phone number. Letters and articles should be addressed to: Professionally Speaking, at the address below or e-mail: .

Publication of an advertisement in Professionally Speaking does not constitute an endorsement by the College of any advertiser’s product or service. No professional learning opportunities have been endorsed or accredited by the College to date.

Subscriptions to Professionally Speaking are a benefit of membership in the Ontario College of Teachers. Annual subscriptions for non-members are available for $10 in Canada; $20 foreign. To subscribe, contact Charlie Morrison, Ontario College of Teachers, 121 Bloor Street East, 6th Floor, Toronto ON M4W 3M5 tel: (416) 961-8800 ext. 628; fax: (416) 961-8822; toll-free 1-888-534-2222; e-mail: .

Canadian Publications Mail Product Sales Agreement No. 1134957

ISSN 1206-8799

Richard Lewko

Philip Carter

Contributors this issue
Margaret Aube, Chris Ball, Marina Brasil, Peter Brown, Philip Carter, Rick Chambers, Rebecca Cossar, Mario Cossette, Pat Dowling, Linda Grant, Paul Hoeffler, Kevin Kelly, Lilli Kenna, Rosemary Kennedy, Richard Lewko, Charlie Morrison, Nancy Pearson, Brad Ross, Rod Rychliski, Laura Sheehan, Daniel Stoffman, Mary Storey, Janice Thomson, Kate Vanderhorst, Margaret Wilson

Layout and production
Chris Ward & Associates Inc.

Conny Schwindel

Web editor
Brad Ross (

Advertising sales
McGOWN/INTERMAC, 160 Bloor St. East, Suite 1124, Toronto ON M4W 1B9 tel: (416) 966-1622; 1500 West Georgia Street, Suite 1400, Vancouver B.C. V6G 2Z6 tel: (604) 688-5914; 785 Plymouth Avenue, Suite 310, Town of Mount Royal, QuŽbec H4P 1B3 tel: (514) 735-5191.

The College is the self-regulating professional body for Ontario teachers. Membership is open to anyone qualified to teach in the province and is required to maintain an Ontario teaching certificate.

The College is responsible to the public and the profession for ensuring teachers receive the training they need to provide Ontario’s students with an excellent education now and in the future. It sets standards of practice and learning for teachers and accredits teacher education programs and providers.

The College regulates teaching qualifications, investigates complaints involving members and takes appropriate disciplinary action.

The Governing Council

Donna Marie Kennedy

John Cruickshank

Elizabeth Barkley, Sandi Bell, Jackie Breithaupt, Pierre Calve, Larry Capstick, Douglas Carter, Paul Charron, Wayne Cornack, Lynn Daigneault, Margaret Dempsey, Solette N. Gelberg, Michel C. Gravelle, Frances E. Hill, Nancy Hutcheson, Marilyn Laframboise, Diane Leblovic, Alfred J. Lorenzi, Kathleen McFadyen, George Merrett, Karen M. Mitchell, Harry Mulvale, Nicholas L. Myrhorod, Cecilia Reynolds, William G. Rogers, Anthony Saldanha, John Slade, David Somer, Frances Thorne, Clarice West-Hobbs

Margaret Wilson

Executive Co-ordinator
Richard Lewko

Co-ordinator, Professional Affairs
Joe Atkinson

Co-ordinator, Membership Services
Louise Nadeau

Co-ordinator, Investigations and Hearings
Patrick O’Neill