Professionally Speaking is published quarterly by the Ontario College of Teachers to inform its members about the activities and decisions of the College. The magazine provides a forum for discussion of issues relevant to the future of teaching and learning, teachers' professional learning and standards of practice.

The views expressed in articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official position of the College.

Reproduction, in whole or in part, of articles from this issue of Professionally Speaking is encouraged. Please credit the Ontario College of Teachers' Professionally Speaking, September 2004.

Letters to the editor and submissions on topics of interest to the profession are welcome. Unsolicited manuscripts cannot be returned.

ISSN 1206-8799

Editorial Board

Marilyn A. Laframboise (Chair), Karen Mitchell, Iain Munro, Patrick Slack


Richard Lewko


Philip Carter

Managing Editor

Joyce Mason

Associate Editors

Marjelaine Caya; Véronique Ponce (interim)


Copy Editor: A.S.A. Harrison; Editorial Production Intern: Leata Lekushoff; Reviews Editors: Rosemary Kennedy (English), Lyse Ward (French)


Marjelaine Caya, Julie Fournel, Véronique Ponce, Lyse Ward


Majella Atkinson, Nadira Baksch, Gabrielle Barkany, Laura Barron, Lois Browne, Dorothea Bryant, Tessa J. Buchan, Nadine Carpenter, Ian Crysler, George D'Agostino, David Suzuki Foundation, Peter Davis, Ramona Dempsey, Helen Donohoe, Fred DuVal, Linda Genesi-Williams, Marjan Glavac, Margaret Grift, Brian Jamieson, Leata Lekushoff, Lee-Ann McAllister, Leanne Miller, Andrea Murik, Chris Sach-Anderson, Michael Salvatori, Lynda Scarrow, Beatrice Schriever, Kristoff Steinruck, Chris Vert, Kerry Walford

Production Manager

Simon Young


Hahn Smith Design

Production & Layout

Radonic | Rodgers Communications Inc.

Cover Photo

Evan Dion


Professionally Speaking, Ontario College of Teachers, 121 Bloor Street East,Toronto, ON M4W 3M5; fax: 416-961-8822; e-mail:


Subscriptions to Professionally Speaking are a benefit of membership in the Ontario College of Teachers.


Dovetail Communications Inc.


Printed with vegetable-based inks on recycled paper at Quebecor Printing Canada, Aurora.

The College is the self-regulating professional body for Ontario teachers. Membership is open to anyone qualified to teach in the province and required to maintain an Ontario teaching certificate.

The College is responsible to the public and the profession for ensuring teachers receive the training they need to provide Ontario's students with an excellent education now and in the future. It sets standards of practice and learning for teachers and accredits teacher education programs and providers.

The College regulates teaching qualifications, investigates complaints involving members and takes appropriate disciplinary action.

College Council


Marilyn A. Laframboise


Nancy Hutcheson


Paul Brazeau, Don Cattani, Ernie Checkeris, Janet Cornwall, Ted Coulson, Patrick J. Daly, Suzanne De Froy, Rosemary Fontaine, Normand W. Fortin, Gord Hough, Nancy Hutcheson, Martin Kings, Marilyn A. Laframboise, Elayne McDermid, Karen M. Mitchell, Harry W. Mulvale, Iain Munro, Janet M. Ouellette, Elizabeth Papadopoulos, Jennifer Pitt, Patrick Slack, Richard Victor, Hilda Watkins, Lila Mae (Lou) Watson


W. Douglas Wilson

Deputy Registrar

Brian McGowan

College Departments


Margaret Aubé, Professional Affairs

Rosemary Gannon, Investigations and Hearings

Richard Lewko, Executive

Lynda Palazzi, Membership Services

Do you know someone - a parent, student or friend - interested in the world of teaching? They can subscribe to Professionally Speaking for insightful articles and current reports on the teaching profession in Ontario. Four issues only $10/year in Canada (outside Canada $20/year).

To subscribe, provide payment (by cheque or credit card) and the following information:

  • Name
  • Address
  • City
  • Province
  • Country
  • Postal Code

by fax 416-961-8822 or by mail:

Ontario College of Teachers,
121 Bloor St. E.,
Toronto, ON M4W 3M5

For members of the College, this cost of subscription is covered by your annual membership fee. For subscription information, contact Kathy Anstett,, tel. 416-961-8800 (toll-free in Ontario 1-888-534-2222), ext. 605.