Exemplary OCT

Katie Cole, OCT

by Kim Pallozzi, OCT

Teachers of the Year

The Premier's Awards single out 14

Each of fourteen Ontario teachers and support staff recently received a Premier's Award for Teaching Excellence. The award program has six categories,including a lifetime achievement award that went to Lea Lacerenza, OCT, from St. Jerome Catholic School in the Toronto Catholic DSB, for her dedication to teaching students with severe learning and reading difficulties.

The five Teachers of the Year are:

Winners of the New Teacher of the Year Award for teachers with three years or less of experience are:

The two winners of the Excellence in Leadership Award, open also to administrators, are:

The Excellent Support Staff Award winners are: Marcia Brown, Greenholme Junior Middle School and North Albion CI, Toronto DSB; Ida Drouin, ácole álámentaire catholique Saint-Jean/Pavillon La Croisáe in Embrun, Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l'Est ontarien]; and Donna Saunders, Blessed Trinity Catholic SS, Grimsby, Niagara Catholic DSB.

The Team of the Year Award for educators working together for a common goal goes to the teachers at the Bloorview School Authority, Toronto DSB, for their integrated kindergarten program.

For the first time in the program's five-year history, a special award was given to an outstanding submission that does not fit into the existing categories. Northern Lights SS in Moosonee, James Bay Lowlands Secondary School Board, won a Chair's Community Contribution Award for the entire staff's dedication to keeping students engaged in a remote part of the province where youth suicide is a major issue.

In announcing the awards for the 2010-11 school year, Premier Dalton McGuinty said: "Educators and support staff are our valued partners in building the knowledge and skills of our young people. It is thanks to their dedication that they touch the hearts and enrich the minds of young people – and inspire them to reach their full potential."

For information on how to nominate someone for these awards, visit www.edu.gov.on.ca/teachingawards.